Memorial Day

27 May

I saw this picture on Pinterest and it warmed my heart. Seeing the hands of various hues holding on to one flag reminded me of how great unity is. How great it is when there is no discrimination, racism, sexism or any other -ism. It reminded me of why we celebrate Memorial Day. Then the picture below broke my heart.

Did this young woman lose a father, a brother or a husband?  Her grief is more than I can imagine or my heart can take right now as I sit on the couch with my three boys and man-child  husband. I am so VERY thankful for my life as I sit here enjoying this weekend. I am very mindful of the fact that MANY people have sacrificed their life to serve our country. My political opinions and “bent” are more liberal and moderate and often those who are conservative want to take on the cause of supporting the military however I think any decent person, regardless of politics, should support our troops. We do and I hate that war even exsist. I hate to see so many men and women suffer from PTSD and injuries due to the wars.

My family has been blessed. I have had family serve in War World II, Vietnam and The Korean War with distant relatives who served in the Gulf and Afghanistan. Luckily they have all come back home with life and limbs in tact. Thank you God for that and for them.

As I sit around and eat some Bar-B-Que (I hope hubby will make that will happen) tomorrow. I will also remind our three sons of the sacrifices others made for us. I will remember my grandfather and father-in-law who are gone and lie as noble veterans in our eyes.

My practice for yoga tomorrow will focus on sacrifices. My day will involve having the boys reach out to veterans. What will you remember this Memorial Day?

Leave a Reply

