Bakasana Family Love

20 Feb

The other night when my entire family decided to practice yoga together; I was very touched. It wasn’t a pre-planned event where I laid out mats and we had instructional time. It was spontaneous, challenging and fun. I felt love and warmth in my heart and soul for this bunch as they practiced Bakasasna (crow (crane) pose).

I have been teaching yoga, weekly, for about 6 years now.  I have really tried to not push yoga on anyone in the house. I do have my own practice, so, of course, throughout the years they have watched, participated and even inquired about it on their own. My two older boys have even taken classes that I have taught for kids. In yoga the boys giggle and enjoy it but are not serious yogis. My husband has back issues and visits the masseuse and chiropractor often. They always tell him to do more yoga and he tells, ‘them my wife teaches that”, and they just give him a crazy look and ask him why he doesn’t do more yoga. He then comes home and we will do some yoga. We do yoga every now and then, and I show show him things to do to help him out. We even do a little couple yoga now and then, but no consistent practice. So we aren’t the “yogi family”, or  so I thought. Being with three boys and a man-child has makes us a football and baseball family.

Now, don’t get me wrong my family knows the importance of a yoga practice especially with the type of sports they are engaged in but, they need a little prodding and I already nag about  enough stuff (chores, homework, etc.). So imagine my delight when it hit me that my family is a “yogi family”.

The reality hit me the other night when my oldest (11 yo) showed me he could do Bakasana. He struggled a bit and was getting frustrated so I then got on the floor and just talked him into being calm and focused and trying again.  He began to  look to me for more guidance so I then did Bakasana.  He tried again and then hubby wondered if he could do it so he got onto the floor with us. He was so surprised and excited that he had the strength to do it! My middle son happened to walk in on us and jumped right in with confidence and an attitude of  “let me show all of you how its done”. He dropped on the floor and did it with ease (he has always been able to do this). Now all four of us are on the floor practicing our Bakasana together and then trying to go into other asanas (postures) as well. The little one (5-year-old) even jumped in!

The entire J5 (our family nickname) is all into it. I sat back and just watched and it hit me, I do have a “yogi family”! Look at my little brood, practicing together, finding their strength, being challenged, laughing, goading each other on to just try again, and just having fun doing what Momma does all of the time. All these years I didn’t need to nag, or push them into it, it just happened. I guess I do have some influence over these bodies filled with testosterone and they do see the value in what I do and how valuable it will be for them in their own personal journeys as well.

2 Responses to “Bakasana Family Love”

  1. MJ, Nonstepmom February 20, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    This is so touching ! i’ve begun to show my stepdaughters some yoga, hoping it would catch on, but it seems the problem is I cannot do yoga with them.. our 6 yr old concentrates so hard that she doesnt notice shes about to fall over, which makes me laugh….but we have fun !

    • aprilpj February 20, 2012 at 1:53 am #

      Thank You!!! I am so glad to hear you too are teaching it to your family. Be patient and it’ll catch on, and then you all can do it and laugh together too, LOL. Too cute wbout your 6 year old, I bet that is a hoot, my little guy is the same way!

Leave a Reply

