To Cleanse or Not – A resolution to make or break

5 Jan

“Making resolutions is a cleansing ritual of self-assesment and repentance that demands personal honesty, and, ultimately, reinforces humility. Breaking them is part of the cycle.”  -Eric Zorn

Love this quote! Don’t we all ultimately want to become better and for many that means becoming healthier. Cleansing is a natural way to achieve that. Everybody is talking about cleansing right now. Of course it is because of the New Year and the resolutions and decisions to do better and eat better. I, on the other hand, am not there, just yet (this is my personal honesty right here). If you are interested in a cleanse there are many out there. Here are a couple I like; B*Well or you can try this one at  400 days until 40 .  I like them both. Both are good and the second one is short but sweet!

Now for me, in general, I eat right; I am health conscience; I do many things “right” in my eating and cleansing (my self-assesment). Here is one “right” thing:

Ahh, my morning glasses of lemon water followed about and half an hour later by my kombucha. These is a great way to start the day.

Lemon water has great benefits; it boosts your immune system, balances your bodies pH, aids in digestion; it is a diuretic,and helps relieve respiratory problems.

Kombucha has great benefits as well. Kombucha contains Vitamin Groups B and C, Beneficial Yeasts and LIVING Bacteria. You can also make it into all types of yummy drinks.

That is my morning cleanse almost each day. Well, some days of the week. One of my goals is to be more consistent with this.   I just REALLY have to watch my  food portions and the biggest hurdle for me is desert and the late night snack! I have a BIG sweet tooth and am not so ready to give that up or use many alternatives to sugars (more personal honesty and a little humility). I believe natural is best so I use liquid Stevia at times and Turbinado sugar. Still I really eat too much sugar – period.

I suppose my New Years resolution  will be to reduce my sugar intake HOWEVER breaking that resloution is all part of the process too! ;).

Happy cleansing in the New Year!

One Response to “To Cleanse or Not – A resolution to make or break”

  1. Trainer Mommie January 8, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Love how you start your day. It makes such a difference I’m sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

