Potato-Turnip Soup, Pumpkin Bread and Playful Boys

23 Nov

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This week I am very grateful because, my boys have no school and my husband doesn’t have to travel! I feel as though a huge weight has been lifted off of my shoulders. I am VERY happy. Now, by Friday my post may read GET THEM ALL OUT OF HERE…but for now I am thankful.

We started the week, on Sunday, at home, the five of us just relaxing, watching the games and having fun. Did I mention that I have 3 boys and 1 manchild at home? Do boys ever really just sit and relax? Here is how they spent a portion of their day:

tackling daddy on the floor

They enjoyed it so much and I just watched and was worn out. So, after a nap on the couch we (hubby and I boys were still awake mind you) awoke to find it being later than I planned for us to eat dinner. Much to my joy I realized I had leftovers!!!!! Whoever doesn’t like leftovers is just sad! So, I already had made a potato-turnip soup in the crockpot (love the crockpot) and pumpkin bread earlier in the week…dinner was on!

yummy potato soup

This is actually my picture, of the pumpkin bread I made! I impressed myself with this one.

Today, I have to really cook as tomorrow is Thanksgiving day! I am responsible for the turkey and we are going to a friends house to eat. However, I will cook for us too because we these boys, manchild and Mom need to eat leftovers for a few days! Enjoy your day of thankfulness!
(I’ll post the recipes for my soup and bread.)

Leave a Reply

