Apples to Apple Pie

22 Oct

I hit the jackpot this week! A wonderful friend of mine loaded me up with lots of goodies. First, of all she watched my youngest son while I taught the fitness club at my middle son’s elementary school afterschool. That was a blessing if ever! He is usually running around the gym, going into the offices, classrooms and media center coveting all of the candy sitting on everyone’s desk. And, he is so darn cute that everyone acquiesces to him and just lets him run rampant. He is sweet but he is BUSY!!! I digress…

When I went to pick him up, from my friends and his playdate with her son, she sent me home with him (trust me he didn’t want to come home and her son didn’t want him to leave), and bags of food! I SCORED! What mother wants to be given food to go home with…everyone of them!

So this is my stash…

She picked some fresh apples from the North Georgia apples and gave me a bagful! YUMMY!!!!

Then I got these:

Homemade apple butter, homemade applesauce and a strawberry from the summer! I will be making homemade biscuits tomorrow for sure!

Now, I was inspired to make an apple desert so…

My apples I already had at home,Store bought apples

 

 

 

 

 

Were transformed  into an apple pie filling

Cut up apples, add sugar, a little flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon

 

 

 

 

And then Apple Pie!

It smelled so good, and looked so yummy that we dove in before I even remembered to take a picture for this blog!

 

 

 

Here’s a bowl of it with vanilla ice cream. The picture doesn’t do it justice. It was heavenly!!!

I rationalize eating all this yumminess by first of all using all natural ingredients and then the plan of exercising it off. Well, I was out of organic turbinado sugar, and I really wanted sugar in it so  regular granulated had to suffice. My pie crust was already made, didn’t feel like making it from scratch and my 8am morning run around Stone Mountain today…well, suffice it to say that didn’t happen either. But, I have no guilt. I am happy, the 3K’s (my sons) were happy, and my hubby who was in his man cave working on a top-secret car project tasted it and he doesn’t like apple pie! All was well on my Friday night.

Oh and one more thing…my friend’s husband jarred pickles this summer and my son LOVES them and guess what?

2 Responses to “Apples to Apple Pie”

  1. DesignsByBSB (@DesignsbyBSB) October 25, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    canning is all good stuff! fresh in a jar w/o preservatives.. that lasts a year!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Biscuits | Peace, Love, & Soul - October 24, 2011

    […] Peace, Love, & Soul Woman, Wife, & Mom Skip to content HomeAbout ← Apples to Apple Pie […]

Leave a Reply

