Leaving a Leagacy of Health to our Kids – Love

19 Oct

I love kids.  Having three boys helps me realize that daily.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I have my moments when I am not the most kid friendly person (only when I need “adult time” or “me” time), but all in all I do love kids. I really like teaching kids because they ultimately teach me something each and every time. These past two Tuesdays have been an example of that.

The past two Tuesdays I have volunteered to teach the “Fitness Club” at the Elementary school my boys attend. Well, one is in Middle school now and the other in Preschool, so that leaves one at the Elementary school…as ususal I digress. As I was saying,  last week I taught Yoga, and then this week I taught a ZUMBA class. We had fun. Initially, I think the kids were a little apprehensive…a few were giving me a side eyed glance…especially a few of the boys but afterwards all were smiles and all was great.

What I loved most was how excited the kids were when they discovered how capable they were of doing stuff. I had the kids do different poses, in yoga, and those pipsqueaks were darn near wrapping their legs around their heads. I loved it! They became excited about yoga and ultimately excited about exercise. They taught me that if I just keeping trying and I let go, I can do it (anything challenging me) too. They taught me that I can laugh and have fun while exercising, even when I feel skeptical about what it is I am doing.

I heard from some of the parents that the kids went home and showed their parents some of the poses. That excited me more than anything!

We talk about how obese our kids are and how lazy they are and how bad they eat, etc. I tend to feel that it isn’t the kids. It is our responsibility to expose them to what exercise, good food and life has to offer them. We need to exercise more. We need to eat better. As a society, as parents, we need to share the joy and benefits of good health to our kids.

There is such a deep joy and pleasure to be had by us when we sow into our kids lives. Showing them how to live fulfilled, free and healthy is the legacy we should leave our kids. What legacy you  want to leave them?

Leave a Reply

