Breathe

15 Oct

This week was good. I taught three different yoga classes…well four actually. I realized how much I LOVE yoga and miss taking it and teaching it more often. I teach it just once a week right now. What I enjoyed most was just taking the time to breathe. There is a need for me to do more…I need to breathe.
I was reading an article, in my Yoga Journal magazine, about how powerful breath can be. It cleanses us, restores us and has the power to heal. What was most interesting in this article was an analogy. The writer said that like the wind, breath is invisible yet imagine how the wind moves trees. Imagine how powerful the wind is. An invisible force, like our breath…it is is invisible yet powerful. Powerful enough to calm us down. Powerful enough take us from anger to stillness. From a rapid heartbeat to a slower steady heart rate.

I personally was having a rough week and breathing each day with my classes helped me put things into perspective. I was alive, I was able to feel all of the emotions yet still stay relaxed and calm for the time being. It was the power of my breath.

My goal this weekend and next week is to find my breathe and use it when the stress of the weekly schedule comes up. When the duties of the day begin to envelop me. When the household responsibilities take up all of my personal time..I will find my personal time when I breath. Despite anything that happens I can find the time to inhale in deep, long breaths and exhale it all out. I love to breath, it is my life force. Thank God for breath!

“Smile,breathe and go slowly”  -Thich Nhat Hanh

Leave a Reply

